roadtrip 2006 Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore

Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore - August 2006
More pics after the jump…

Click on map for actual Interactive NPS Map of Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore
Unfortunately when I drove up north to visit Pictured Rocks Lakeshore something odd happened. It was the middle of August and at its highest 106 degrees while i was visiting. Everywhere i went people with UP accents were talkin’ to me aboot this crazy weather they were experiencing. So of course when I woke up the next morning from spending the night in Munising, it started to rain. There was no waiting it out, I had a schedule to make it through Canada and come back down to Louisville before I had to be back at work. So I paid my $35 or whatever the boat ride cost and jumped on the back so I could try and get as many pictures as possible. If you are wondering the final count was 528. Yes I know, how ridiculous, from 9:57 a.m. to 12:01 p.m. I took 528 photographs in the rain of wet rocks. What I’m doing here is warning you, warning that these will not be the best pictures I’ve ever taken, you could even argue they are my worst. But the fact still remains that I took 528 pictures while standing in the rain on the back of a boat of wet rocks. The lesson i learned is the next time I decide to venture up to the UP on a trip, I will be staying the week in Munising, not a day…and i will be renting a boat, and maybe even a cabin. I will not be posting a lot of pictures of the rocks, as they are just not good pictures at all, but hopefully this will prevent anyone by going during a rainstorm so it doesn’t ruin your trip. The fact is that the Upper Peninsula of Michigan is a fantastic place everyone should visit. And make sure to eat some pasties while you’re up there.
The Forecast

Munising Falls

Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore


Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore NPS Website
Leave a Reply

