Roadtrip 2007 Arizona

“From Hwy 89 you take 64 to get to the Grand Canyon. There are signs everywhere, BIG. GREEN. Grand Canyon Signs. At some point when I was sleeping Ricardo and Rina made it to Flagstaff and jumped onto I-40 west. They were so excited to wake me up in Kingman, Arizona to say they had found a hotel and we were just stopping off for gasoline and to get food/drinks/etc. After all they had been driving almost 4 hours and were so excited at the progress they had made. I immediately said Kingman? Kingman? Where the fuck is Kingman?..Give me the map. Rina handed over the map and I studied it to see what was happening when i was asleep. I waited until Rick got back in the car and said “Why did you pass up the Grand Canyon?” and they both had no idea what i was talking about. “The Grand Canyon, why did you pass it up?” Both individuals argued and argued their point of they hadn’t passed it up. we still hadn’t reached it yet. Just look at the map Liz this is the south rim, this is the north, it got too dark to make it to the north rim remember, so were going to the south rim. What? I said. Did you check the itinerary? Did you look at the map? Do you remember me giving you directions before i went to sleep?!!?! Whatever I said that night i was absolutely wrong. They were right, I was wrong. And this was coming from two floridians, one thing you realize if you ever move to Florida, none of the people there use the four cardinal points. Which are east, west, north, and south. Everywhere else I’ve lived people know how to tell directions, just not Floridians. I have no idea why.”

I had just single handedly planned this trip for 6 months and pretty much knew everything about it. God forbid I fall asleep during it. Still to this day i can’t figure out why they didn’t get my point that night that in fact they had passed the Grand Canyon. Here’s a map to give you a visual of what i was dealing with .The fact still remains they passed up the Grand Canyon by194 miles.


Las Vegas, Las Vegas pictures, Las Vegas photographs, las Vegas fotos, las Vegas photos, Lizzie morrison, liz morrison, elizabeth morrison, liz morrison florida, lizzie morrison louisville kentucky, jeffersonville, indiana, hoosier photos, hoosier photographs, kentuckiana, kentuckiana photographs, kentucky photos, kentuckiana photographs, lizzie morrison travel, travel usa, travel photography usa,route 66, buck and doe road, arizona travel photographs

Roadtrip 2007 Navajo Bridge – Arizona

05-23-07 Navajo Bridge - Arizona

“We got to the Navajo Bridge to walk across it, right when I was taking my first picture my camera battery died. AHHHH. That reminds me I need to get a backup battery. I persuaded Rick, well i begged Rick to give me his camera after he was finished taking the pictures he wanted to take. I fired off a few shots and we chilled on the bridge for a few minutes. Oddly enough I haven’t got any pictures of the bridge we stood on (the old Navajo Bridge) I just have pictures of the new one while standing on the old.”

More pics after the jump…

Continue reading

Roadtrip 2007 Arizona

“We left Bryce Canyon in hopes to see Grand Canyon North Rim. We took Alt 89 to Jacob Lake but I kept on hearing in my right ear that it was going to get dark before we got down there and then we wouldn’t be able to find a place to sleep, sleeping in the car was not going to happen and we would be murdered on a back road—> according to Ricardo. I went ahead and took his advice, he’s just scared, so is Rina. I to this day haven’t been able to break that about them. I have a lot more faith in this country not to be murdered every time I go off a main highway or try and have lunch someplace other than BurgerKing, McDonalds, or TacoBell (Ricardo if you read this, you’ve really got to stop this habit) I stayed on the road through Kaibab National Forest. We wondered upon a place called House Rock in the Marble Canyon area. Seriously A Land Before Time type of scene going on there. We stopped to take a couple pictures at the overlook and i happily drove to the bottom of the canyon. It was a fantastic stretch of road. “


Roadtrip 2007 Bryce Canyon

05-23-07 Roadtrip - Bryce Canyon
3:16 p.m. Our arrival time into Bryce Canyon. I originally had plans for us to spend the night there, but Rina and Ricardo decided $100 was over our budget for a hotel room for one night. I immediately had to find a gift shop and buy a hooded sweatshirt, it was FREEEZINNNG. Of course my debit/credit card decided not to work so Rina loaned me the cash for the $21.40 souvenir. We ended up hanging out in the canyon til 5:30pm and went out to the main gate area to check out those gift shops and fill up $44 in gas at 2,223 miles into our journey. My card decided to start working again closer to civilization so i seriously had a Bryce Canyon spending spree for souvenirs. Oddly enough it was a good thing i got the hoodie as it started snowing while we were there….
More pics after the jump….